PiFM is coming to Cardiff!

EPSRC have let us know informally that our application for establishing a PiFM facility at Cardiff has been approved! Now the hard work begins!

Now we wait……..

The interview seemed to go well on Wednesday, the panel asked some good questions but I think the team was well prepared. Now we just have to wait!

Business man waiting for a call.

While we are waiting, here is a recent photo of the CCI labs that are being developed in the new TRH. A lot of research to which the PiFM could contribute will be developed in these labs. (In case you are wondering, neither of the people in the photo are part of our PiFM team – yet!)

TRH update & the interview!

Watch a drone flyby of the TRH building in the latest update from the construction team. Hear about the latest milestones passed and most excitingly from PiFM’s point of view, the installation of the keel slab for the microscopy unit in the next couple of weeks. They are finishing the ceilings and other decorations in that wing too.

Meanwhile, the interview approaches! Wish us luck for our discussions with the Strategic Equipment Allocation committee on Wednesday 28th at 11 am.🤞

Practice, practice, practice

We’ve had a few quiet weeks while we wait for the formal interview on 28th April, but don’t think we’ve been sitting on our hands! The team has been thinking about the interview and practicing our answers.

Reflecting on everything, we are more convinced than ever that we have an excellent proposal that will contribute significantly to UK science.

The referees’ comments are in!

The first three referee comments have arrived and they are all very supportive. We are particularly delighted that they ALL recognise the potential of the PiFM facility in Cardiff to create internationally competitive science. It’s a big challenge to write a comprehensive account of the science that a technique like PiFM can offer in limited space, and we were genuinely concerned that the exciting science we plan was not covered in enough detail. Happily, our referees have read the proposal very carefully and understood the case we were trying to make. We are very grateful for their efforts.

Molecular Vista PiFM webcast

Molecular Vista are holding a live web cast on Tuesday, January 26th at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET 

PiFM – Hyperspectral “Nano FT-IR” Imaging.” 
The webcast will introduce photo-induced force microscopy which, as readers of this blog will know is “a nanoscale IR spectroscopy/microscopy technique based on atomic force microscopy (AFM). It can produce topography, chemical maps, and IR absorption spectra with sub-10 nm spatial resolution, minimal sample preparation requirements and without inducing damage.”
After a brief introduction to the technique, a few application examples from biopharma and material research will be shared.